top of page

Girlschool release their stomping new single ‘It Is What It Is’.

Dirty Honey photo
Photo Credit: Adam Kennedy

Pre-order WTFortyfive? here


FORTY-FIVE years young, British hard rock royalty Girlschool release their stomping new single ‘It Is What It Is’ taken from their 14th studio album WTFortyfive?

It Is What It Is’ is classic Girlschool; fun, real, uncompromising - with an addictive mototörcharged scuzz and a chorus that is guaranteed to stay stuck in your head for many weeks to come. The song has a no-frills message of accepting the past, present and making the most of the hand you are dealt: “It is what it is, so what ya’ gonna do about it?

Co-founding frontwoman and guitarist Kim McAuliffe explains, “It’s all about having no regrets. You can’t change the past, just get on and make the most of it! No point in crying over spilt milk… or beer, as the case may be - make the most of it now!”

Set for release on July 28th via Silver Lining Music, WTFortyfive? is a deliciously dirty declaration that age is a number that shows how much real raw attitude you have when it really counts. With WTFortyfive?, Kim McAuliffe (guitar/vocals), Denise Dufort (drums), Jackie Chambers (guitar/backing vocals) and Tracey Lamb (bass) leave the grit under their finger nails and the scuzz on their crusty leather boots as they riff and stomp their way through 12 statements of intent showing major attitude, some great melodies, and a consistent crunch to every guitar. Lead single ‘Are You Ready?’ sets the pace, a racy, raunchy, fun-saturated shape-shifter co-written with Alcatrazz’s Joe Stump. Then there’s the the Wandsworth via Sunset Strip sway of ‘Bump In The Night’, the youthful, punky romp of ‘Up To No Good’ and the smart, sassy, rock ‘n’ roll hooks of ‘Believing In You’, with McAuliffe’s vocals sounding as sharp and raucous as ever. And if THAT isn’t enough, their raunch roars and rolls alongside Biff Byford (Saxon), Phil Campbell (Motörhead), and Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses) on a cracking cover of ‘Born To Raise Hell’! So throw away your inhibitions and join these spectacularly wild women on the most glorious of rock ‘n’ roll rides. Lemmy knew, so should YOU! WTFortyfive? will be released on 12” Vinyl, CD Digipak, Digital Download and Streaming and Special D2C bundles. Pre-order from April 25th at this location

Head over to for a chance to win a Girlschool WTFortyfive? custom-made real leather jacket. T&Cs apply.

Girlschool Album

Track Listing:

  1. It Is What It Is

  2. Cold Dark Heart

  3. Bump In The Night

  4. Barmy Army

  5. Invisible Killer

  6. Believing In You

  7. It’s A Mess

  8. Into The Night

  9. Are You Ready? (feat. Joe Stump)

  10. Up To No Good

  11. Party

  12. Born To Raise Hell (feat. Biff Byford, Phil Campbell & Duff McKagan)


Girlschool are:

Kim McAuliffe - guitar/vocals

Denise Dufort - drums

Jackie Chambers - guitar/backing vocals

Tracey Lamb - bass


Follow Girlschool:

Duff Press logo


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Commenting has been turned off.


Here are our latest editions.

bottom of page