top of page

The Commoners Release New Single "Shake You Off" From Forthcoming Album "Restless"

Photo Credit: © Paul Wright
Photo Credit: © Paul Wright





“A strong candidate to be among the best albums of the year.” – Blues Rock Review, 9/10

“This is undoubtedly the band’s best work to date” – Colin Campbell, Blues Matters

“A rock ’n’ roll Renaissance… The Commoners bring their own brand of southern rock n’ roll swagger." – Rock & Blues Muse

“Restless is all killer, no filler.” – HRH Magazine

“A blast of unbridled rock, with a massive wall of sound punctuated by a hammering drum.” – Music News


Following the success of their previous five singles, Canadian roots rock band The Commoners are pleased to announce the Friday June 7th release of “Shake You Off” – the final single taken from their highly anticipated third studio album, Restless. The album will be released by Gypsy Soul Records on Friday 5th July 2024, and is available to pre-order at

From Friday June 7th, “Shake You Off” will be available on all major streaming platforms and promises to be a heartfelt celebration to The Commoners’ ever-evolving musical journey. The single is available HERE.

Today, fans can get a sneak peek of the new single by streaming it on YouTube HERE.

Gutsy guitar and driving percussion push “Shake You Off” from the speakers, initiating a gripping track that will have heads bobbing from start to finish. Punchy bass and searing organ pierce the arrangement, rousing listeners to a fever pitch as The Commoners attempt to break loose from restraints.

Having wrapped up a bustling 2023 filled with recording sessions and a UK tour alongside Grammy-nominated duo Samantha Fish and Jesse Dayton, The Commoners have solidified their position as a must-watch act.

The release of Restless will mark the quintet’s return to the road in 2024, with numerous festivals in the UK and EU, including Made of Stone, Steelhouse, and Moulin Blues Festivals, already scheduled for this summer. From the speakers to the stage, one thing is certain: The Commoners are spearheading a party rock renaissance, and the audience is cordially invited.

A natural evolution from their 2022 album Find A Better Way, the forthcoming album Restless offers a peek behind the curtain of success, revealing the gruelling routines and ragged emotions that hide behind the glamorous aesthetic of a rock band on the rise. With introspective, slower-tempo numbers pocketed amongst rip-roaring anthems, the new album, recorded at RHC Music in Toronto, is a portrait of a hardworking group revitalising a classic genre.

“As with our previous album, we wanted to marry old and new southern rock together in a way that was unique to the band’s Canadian roots,” says the Commoners guitarist and producer Ross Hayes Citrullo. “By adding the soul and rock elements of The Black Crowes, and the southern blues rock undertones of The Allman Brothers to a production style akin to Blackberry Smoke and Rival Sons, I think we developed an authentic sound that compares sonically to some of our favourite records across all of those music genres.”



Album cover


1. Devil Teasin’ Me (4.24)

2. Shake You Off (3.55)

3. The Way I Am (3.34)

4. Restless (5.18)

5. Gone Without Warning (4.02)

6. Who Are You (Ain't Knocked Down) (3.59)

7. Body And Soul (5.31)

8. See You Again (4.44)

9. Too Soon To Know You (4.59)

10. All That We Have (3.14)

Approx. Running Time: 45 minutes


Devil Teasin’ Me

A bonafide banger with anthemic group vocals and electric riffs, “Devil Teasin’ Me” captures self-reckoning wrapped up in rock ’n’ roll. Lush background voices lend heat to the chorus, supporting Medhurst through a feverish performance.

Shake You Off

Gutsy guitar and driving percussion push “Shake You Off” from the speakers, initiating a gripping track that will have heads bobbing from start to finish. Punchy bass and searing organ pierce the arrangement, rousing listeners to a fever pitch as The Commoners attempt to break loose from restraints.

The Way I Am

A rowdy riff catapults The Commoners into “The Way I Am”, joined by kick drum thuds that strike the chest, immersing the listener in a track made for stadiums. Tension builds into an infectious chorus spiked with vocal support by Sandra Bouza. A guaranteed hit, “The Way I Am” sees The Commoners united in conviction, playing with the confidence of a band that knows exactly who they are.


Delicate picks and strums open “Restless”, lending a subtle Celtic feel to the track which evolves into a flourishing arrangement with piano and harmonic guitar accents. Within “Restless”, The Commoners unpack life on the road, folding the struggle and discomfort of pursuing a dream into a show-stopping number.

Gone Without Warning

A gritty riff puts fire under “Gone Without Warning”, launching The Commoners into a track that boils over with tension. Featuring a heavy hitting chorus with soulful backing vocals by Chantal Williams, the track is further elevated by the combined voices of bassist Ben Spiller and drummer Adam Cannon.

Who Are You (Ain’t Knocked Down)

Crunchy guitar cuts through the speakers, accented by stark percussion, and piano in this true party rock anthem. Certain to raise listeners to their feet, “Who Are You” features peppy organ alongside call and response vocals that kick this confrontational track into overdrive.

Body And Soul

Ambient slide guitar and viscous drones set the tone for a smoky and sultry number with a masterful arrangement that goes down smooth. Throbbing with rhythmic bass and percussion, “Body And Soul” traps The Commoners in a tangle of temptation.

See You Again

A true roots-rocker, “See You Again” is an ode to love and loss, good times and memories made, featuring a chorus fit for kicking up dust on the backroads with the windows down. Full-bodied acoustic guitar guides this track through contemplation to celebration.

Too Soon To Know You

Lively organ and crisp guitar support a soaring top line in this reflective track that wonders what might have been. Stirred by nostalgia, singer Chris Medhurst reminisces about a bond broken by time, offering a listen that will surely inspire a trip down memory lane.

All That We Have

Resonant acoustic guitar pairs with an honest vocal performance by Chris Medhurst for a reflective, poignant track. Lyrically centered around acceptance and finding peace through life’s troubles and existential anxieties, “All That We Have” is a tender affirmation of support.


The Team

All songs written by The Commoners except where noted.

Tracks 1, 4, 8 and 9 co-written by The Commoners and Renan Yildizdogan

Tracks 2 and 3 co-written by The Commoners, Jeff Desilets, and Renan Yildizdogan

Produced and mixed by Ross Hayes Citrullo and Renan Yildizdogan

Recorded at RHC Music, Toronto, Ontario

Engineers - Ross Hayes Citrullo, Ben Spiller, Adam Cannon, Renan Yildizdogan

Assistant Engineers - Adil Batty, Ben Byck, Jon Savard, Dylan Davis, Emily Goguen

Mastered by Pete Lyman at Infrasonic Mastering, Nashville, Tennessee


The Band

Chris Medhurst - Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar

Ross Hayes Citrullo - Lead Guitar

Ben Spiller - Bass, Vocals, Piano (Who Are You, Gone Without Warning)

Adam Cannon - Drums, Percussion, Vocals

Miles Evans-Branagh - Organ, Rhodes, Piano (See You Again, Restless, Too Soon To Know You)

Chantal Williams, Nicki Lawrence, Sandra Bouza - Backing Vocals




London, The Grace Friday 19 July 2024

Maid Of Stone Festival Saturday 20 July 2024

Milton Keynes, Crauford Arms Sunday 21 July 2024

Wolverhampton, KK's Steel Mill Tuesday 23 July 2024

Newbury, Arlington Arts Centre Wednesday 24 July 2024

Manchester, Night & Day Cafe Thursday 25 July 2024

Edinburgh, The Caves Friday 26 July 2024

Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall Saturday 27 July 2024

Steelhouse Festival Sunday 28 July 2024








Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating


Here are our latest editions.

bottom of page